Memories

Goodbye Chester

21st July, 2017.

Numb

In The End

New Divide

What I’ve Done

Crawling

Breaking The Habit

Somewhere I Belong

Leave Out All The Rest

From The Inside

The entire day, I’ve been listening to these songs. They took me back to a distant past.

It was around 2001 that I was first exposed to international music. And the first international artists I listened to, just happened to be Linkin Park. What my mother calls screams, I call an outlet.

It wasn’t just the music I connected with. It was the hidden angst, the deeper meaning behind the songs that affected me so much. It was actually many years later, when I was battling my own demons, when I didn’t know what’s worth fighting for, that these songs lifted me up.

I wanted to heal, I wanted to feel what I thought was never real.
I wanted to let go of the pain I felt so long.

These songs gave me the strength.

Today, when I listen to these songs again, I can’t help but notice the fiery pain in the lyrics. It took me back to the first encounter with Chester’s voice. It took me back to the time I felt there was no more hope left in this world.

Thank you, Chester, for lifting me up during those difficult times. It’s a shame the coming generations will never fathom what you meant to our generation. Yours is a name that will remain etched in our hearts, long after you are gone. You will not be forgotten. Your voice will keep you alive.

In memoriam.

Chester Charles Bennington (March 20, 1976 – July 20, 2017)

4129638-chester-bennington-wallpapers

Leave a Reply

